Irish Award 2007 | Press: The DIGITAL HUB
Back to NEWS
Event: Irish Art Awards 2007 – 22/11/07

The Irish Art Awards 2007 is an online art competition open to all visual artists resident in the Republic of Ireland or Northern Ireland. The aim of the Awards is to bring the best of Irish Art to a wide audience. Artists were allowed enter during a six month period which ended on 31st July 2007. To enter an artist simply registered on and uploaded an image of their entry. From 1st March 2007 – 31st August 2007 3,000 members of the public visited the website and voted for their favourite entry. The six entries receiving the most votes have been short listed and an overall winner will now be chosen by a panel of judges on Thursday 22nd of November 2007. The winner will receive €10,000 and five runners-up will each receive €1,000. In addition, ten voters drawn from those who voted online for the overall winner will each receive a €500 prize. The Awards Ceremony will take place on 22nd November 2007 at The Digital Hub.

The short listed artists are Bartosz Kolata – Dublin, Clive Bright – Sligo, hilary – Kildare, Laurence O Toole – Carlow, Leonie McMeel – Limerick & Mark Baker – Meath. The Judges are Brona Molloy – President of The Art Teachers Association of Ireland, Brian McGuire – Head of Fine Arts at NCAD & Iain Davidson – Visual Arts Specialist at the Arts Council of Northern Ireland

Leonie McMeel | Dublin, Ireland | T: +353 87 807 00 70 | E: |
Designed by Edgewater Graphics |